Old 11th February 2002, 19:02   #1
*Chester*
Registered User
 
*Chester*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: England
Posts: 166
Another stupid question off me :D

This might be the stupidest question ever to be posted on this forum buttttttttt......... Why is there no Vis when you'r playing a CD? MP3s and WAVs have it.... Why not CDs?


Told you it's a stupid question.... But it's been doing my head'in for a while so I have to ask
*Chester* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2002, 20:24   #2
sadorf
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 338
when you play cds, it doesnt play through the EQ or even the winamp sound system thingamabobber, if you go look through the input plugins you will find the CR Reader plugin, use that to play CDs through all of winamp.
sadorf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2002, 20:44   #3
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
CDReader is NOT included with the default Winamp setup. It's a 3rd-party plugin.
Download & install it, and read the accompanying readme.txt for instructions how to enable it. Basically, you need to disable the default plugin first (ie. goto the Winamp\Plugins dir and rename in_cdda.dll to in_cdda.dll.off).

CDReader uses Digital Audio Extraction to read the cd audio data (like WMP7), and therefore the audio can now be processed through Winamp's soundsystem, thus enabling EQ & vis plugins.

btw, sadorf, if you downloaded CDReader from winamp.com/plugins then you've got a very old buggy version. Goto the author's site to get the latest version (v1.95)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2002, 00:23   #4
sadorf
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 338
heh

i havent played a CD in a looooong time, so i didnt know it is an old buggy version, sorry about that, i mainly play mp3s movies and midi

once again, sorry about the mixup
sadorf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2002, 01:40   #5
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Hey! No problem my friend.

Your answer was just fine,
tho' it would've been perfect if you'd linked to the CDReader homepage
At least ya know now eh!

Cheers!

DJ-Egg.



Anyway, it's all winamp.com's fault for not putting up the new version.
The version available @ winamp.com/plugins is about 2 years old.
Tho' I suppose it's possible that the author's never even submitted any updates. I mean, he must get 1000's of hits just from all the links we've posted on these forums alone.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2002, 10:33   #6
*Chester*
Registered User
 
*Chester*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: England
Posts: 166
Should i worry if it now says. Your system must not use Win32 or somin like that? Btw im on winME so thats probally why my system don't work to.

Ah well, now i can't play CDs in my PC, I'll sort it out..... I hope

Thanks for the help anyways
*Chester* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2002, 11:55   #7
Rocker
Hiding in plain sight (mod)
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 9,910
try this

ctrl+p-->input-->CD Reader-->configure-->click on your cdrom(the cdron with the cd)-->configure (again)->make sure your cdrom (interface)is set to ASPI..and the correct cdrom is there too
Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2002, 14:40   #8
*Chester*
Registered User
 
*Chester*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: England
Posts: 166
? Say what ?

Bit thick here, whats all that mean?
*Chester* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2002, 17:28   #9
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
It means you will need the ASPI layer installed to read the CD over the IDE bus, instead of over the audio connection.
Go to the Adaptec site and look for a file called aspichk.exe to download. Run this and it will tell you if ASPI is installed on your machine, and what version it is.
If not you will need to get hold of something to install it for you,(Mods will have some help I'm sure). I got my copy from a WinOnCD disc.

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2002, 17:51   #10
*Chester*
Registered User
 
*Chester*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: England
Posts: 166
Quote:
Caution:
Do NOT install ASPI32.EXE with Windows 2000, Windows ME, Windows XP, Easy CD Creator 4.x, or with Windows Media Player 7.0.

now what do I do?

I'm running ME, I have Media player 7.0 and Easy CD creator 4.x

I HATE F'IN MICROSOFT!
*Chester* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2002, 17:59   #11
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Sorry Chester, I'm still on 98SE here.
I did notice you were on Me and meant to tell you to check

Try the Tech Support Greatest Hits, bound to be in there somewhere.

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2002, 22:43   #12
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
This probably means that the ASPI layer drivers are already installed.

As Winamprocker said:

In Winamp
Open the Prefs (Ctrl+P = hotkey -or- main menu -> options -> preferences)
In the left column, click on Input (under the Plug-ins section)
In the right column, click "CDReader plugin"
Now click the "Configure" button underneath
In the CDReader config, under "drives" click your CD-ROM drive
Now click the "Configure" button
Change the Interface from Win32 to ASPI

If you get a new/different error message,
report back here and we'll take things from there.


btw, if all else fails, you can always remove the CDReader plugin and re-enable the original default plugin (ie. do the reverse of what you did when you enabled CDReader)

If it's just the built-in vis (spectrum analyzer/oscilloscope) you want to work with CD's (sorry, I originally interpreted it as Vis plugins, eg. AVS), then try the following:

With CDReader disabled and in_cdda.dll re-enabled,
open Winamp,
(same instructions as above)
goto: Prefs -> Plugins -> Input -> Nullsoft CD Plugin -> configure:
Checkmark "sample input from soundcard for vis"

If this doesn't work, then it's back to CDReader again.
Let us know how ya get on.

(btw, CDReader also provides support for the EQ & vis/dsp plugins)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2002, 09:52   #13
*Chester*
Registered User
 
*Chester*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: England
Posts: 166
Quote:
ASPI failed to init
so i guess i can't use it then, eh? shitty winME
*Chester* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2002, 10:16   #14
sadorf
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 338
hmmm i used to have winME and everything worked fine foe me lol, i dont know how, i think it just worked when i installed the plugin. i tried installing a new plugin today for it and i couldnt get it to work lol, but winXP hated me to begin with so i dunno.
sadorf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2002, 10:30   #15
Rocker
Hiding in plain sight (mod)
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 9,910
Quote:
Originally posted by *Chester*


so i guess i can't use it then, eh? shitty winME
when you click configure (for the CD Reader plug-in)

is the drive letter correct with the cd-rom???

e.g the model and the drive letter?

sometimes cdreader doesn't read the drive and drive letter correctly
Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2002, 22:27   #16
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Some of these threads/links might help:

RE: ASPI Driver problems & downloads (CDReader related)
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=29809
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=35623
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=31694
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=48436
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=35623
http://www.ping.be/satcp/softwaretools01.htm#ASPI (Win9x/ME/2k/XP)
http://www.nu2.nu/aspi/ (Win2k/NT/XP)
http://softwarecenter.net/cdex/download/wnaspi32.zip (Win2k)
http://www.windac.de/eng/sup02.shtml
Adaptec | Support | Downloads | aspichk.exe | ASPI Updates

Special case for top n00bs
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=68314


That "warning" you posted earlier about aspi32.exe is correct.
Aspi32.exe is for older operating systems (Win9x)
Get the newest version of aspi from either of the ping.be or nu2.nu url's above.

The above threads (first 5 links) also explain more about what winamprocker is saying, ie. how to make sure CDReader is configured correctly.
Basically, there's a good chance that ASPI is already installed and all you need to do is configure CDReader so it can use/recognize/connect with it properly.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump