Old 30th March 2002, 21:49   #1
Maggieann

idiots guide required please! wma to wav

I am very new to PCs, and I have been given an external CD Rewriter.
I have Windows Media Player with my PC. I cannot create CDs from the music in my Media library as it says the files are wma and they need to be wav.
I have read all the entries about this subject and I do not understand how to do what I need to do. Can someone please tell me in very easy to understand language what I should do? I cannot believe I have all that wonderful (to me) music in my library and I can't make CDs out of it!
Sorry if I sound stupid, but my pc was a retirement gift, I'm very old!
Thanks
Maggieann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2002, 10:26   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team

Try here:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=77384
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2002, 15:21   #3
Maggieann

wma to wav

thanks but I don't understand any of the terms used. I did say I needed a very simple explanantion, maybe I'm just too old for new knowledge!
Maggieann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2002, 14:21   #4
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team

Okay then, I'll try my best...
but I'm not exactly sure which terms you don't understand.

I'm also not sure whether or not your WMA files are DRM protected.
DRM stands for Digital Rights Management.
By default, Win MediaPlayer has this setting enabled:
Tools -> Options -> Recording tab -> Enable Personal Rights Management.

What this means is that when you encode your CD's to WMA, MediaPlayer also creates a license for these files.