Old 21st April 2002, 03:11   #1
out123
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 8
skipping problem...

hi,

I have a major skipping problem during mp3 playing on my new computer. I installed both winamp 2.79 and then back to 2.78 and i have the same problem; there's no irq problem and i tried to use maximum buffers and high priority etc, still nothing changes. what can i do to fix it?
i'm running winXP on a intel pentium4 1.7ghz, 256mb ram, 40gb hd, nvidia geforce 64mb video card, soundmax on-board sound card.

tia
out123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2002, 03:35   #2
Rocker
Hiding in plain sight (mod)
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 9,910
1) close winamp
http://www.blorp.com/~peter/zips/wa2update.exe
^^try this update first

if that doesn't work
switch to directsound

open winamp (press stop to make sure its not playing anything)

preferences (ctrl+p)--->plug-ins/output--->select "crossfading directsound output" --->close

if that still doesn't work

update your drivers....

if it still skips then it could be caused by some other means

2) If the problem persists:
http://www.friedbagels.com/tecaudprobdu.html (vgakills!)
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=32363 (DirectSound tweaks)
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=62586 (WaveOut tweaks)
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=43231 (busthrottle/smooth scrolling)
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=45994 (system.ini tweaks)
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=66514 (Gen. fixes/Windows tweaks)
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=29776 (Increasing buffer)
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=30885 (videocard/resolution)
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=31503 (WA tweaks/sound drivers)
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=44757 (poor quality playback)
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=31611 (distorted playback)
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=29810 (CD related skips)
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=37143 (DS tweaks/Network card)
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=30389 (skipping: further tips?)
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=33769 (typical user error!)
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=81867 (IRQ conflicts)
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=52709 (Win2k ACPI irq sharing)
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=53599 (Win2k crackle+pop/NIC)
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=53487 (IDE Controller driver)
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=70893 (background apps)
http://www.microsoft.com/windows98/s...asp#audio_hiss
http://alive.singnet.com.sg/tech/click.htm
Search results for - keyword: Smooth Scrolling

3) WDM Soundcard driver issues:
Choppy or no sound with WDM drivers : Win98/ME
Problems with soundcards that do not support WDM drivers
WDM Update for Win98SE - kmixer.sys
Full Micro$oft Knowledge Base search


4) Get a proper soundcard
Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2002, 12:48   #3
out123
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 8
still skipping...

hi!
first, thanks for your quick reply
i installed the update, it didnt help; then switched to directsound, still the same; haven't seen any irq conflict, i tried the system.ini line, same as usual; changed the monitor refresh rate to a lower one, skipping a usual; couldnt find any DMA thing in the device manager (winXP), both in the hard disks or controllers. anything else i can do? as u have seen its a really powerfull computer (except the on board soundcard, what a shame ). if nothing else helps i'll put in my 3 years old creative sb card from my previous computer, maybe it'll help? (can i have 2 soundcards on the same computer??)
out123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2002, 13:49   #4
Rocker
Hiding in plain sight (mod)
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 9,910
did ya try a driver update?

from the manafacturer's site?
Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2002, 14:21   #5
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Yes, put the SB card in.
Just set it as the default audio device in Sounds & Multimedia Control Panel
(c/o drop down menu in Audio/General tab -> playback & recording device)
I'm not sure if the path to the settings is the same in WinXP,
but I know it is for all previous OS'es (except Sounds & Multimedia Control Panels are separate in Win9x)

You can disable the onboard sound if you wish?
Let me know if you need further instructions.

You'll also need to get WinXP-compatible drivers for the SB card
www.soundblaster.com/drivers/
What is it? An SBLive, or an SB PCI 128, or other?

As for DMA, again, I'm not sure about WinXP (note to self: must get hold of a WinXP pc somewhere just to find out)
Is it "Hardware" tab instead of Device Manager?
Direct Memory Access should be enabled for all drives which support it.
St00pid Windows disables it by default

In Win9x/ME the path is:
Disk Drives -> Hard Drive -> Properties -> settings tab
There must be a WinXP equivalent somewhere.

btw, 'twas me who edited 'Rocker's first post
(I added a #4)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2002, 18:12   #6
out123
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 8
driver

Hi,
my soundmax driver is from late 2001, so i think it should be okay with winXP; even though i went to the manufacturer's homepage, couldnt find any link to drivers there...anyway, i prefer trying to solve this problem without installing my old sound blaster (which is creative sb 128 i think). by the way, its skipping also in media player, a bit less though. about DMA, i read in the winxp help that the 'settings' where the DMA is might not show up, and it really doesnt they dont explain how to show it. maybe its automatically set to dma enabled? (the device manager still exists as in previous win's under control panel->system->hardware->device manager, but DMA *should* be under ide controllers though)
out123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2002, 21:06   #7
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Not all IDE Controllers support or give the option for DMA.
All drives do though.
Are you saying there's no option for DMA under:
Disk Drives -> (Hard Drive) -> Properties -> settings tab ?

Also, trust me, using the SB128 will fix it... the last good quality soundcard that CreativeLabs ever made (SBLive/Audigy cards suck major league).

But SoundMax integrated chips are truly & utterly crap.
As are all onboard sound solutions.
(btw, the latest codec/drivers for all onboard chips can be found on either the pc or motherboard manufacturer's website)

If I were you, I'd go back to the store where you bought the new pc and demand they put in a proper soundcard. A (Guillemot) Hercules GameTheater would be nice

Good luck!
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2002, 22:03   #8
out123
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 8
skipping saga

Hi,
there's actually no 'settings' tab in the controller properties
are u sure the creative vibra 128 is good enough? i'll try to install it back ASAP, but i think later on i'll get a new card that supports all the 3d and surround things...which sound cards do u suggest under 40$-50$?
btw: thanks alot for your help!
out123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2002, 22:53   #9
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Aah, you didn't say it was a Vibra128, I thought you meant SB PCI 128.
There's a bit of a difference... but still it's gotta be better than the soundmax?
A list of other soundcards can be found here.

btw, for the 3rd time NOT the Controllers, the HARD DISK DRIVE itself!
Enable DMA for the Hard Drive. It's under Disk Drives, not Hard Disk Controllers.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2002, 01:42   #10
out123
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 8
thanks

Yea i know that you said hard drives, but there were no 'settings' tabs in both places...and in the winXP help it said it should be under the controllers anyway, thanks alot, i'll let you know if there's still a problem with the old sound card.
out123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2002, 02:26   #11
TallTam
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5
sb128 card, win xp, and skipping problem

I have an old sb128 card, win xp, and I'm having the same problem. I installed the update..verified settings according to instructions given..and have tried playing music I know is good 'cause it plays with no skipping in win98 on same computer! (dual boot system) I found that by installing a theme with no default songs it was helped, but is still a problem. I found disabling windows sounds does no good in xp..the theme takes over. I'm out to find every .wav file this thing has and going to delete them and see if that helps any, but wanted to jump in and let people know that changing to a sb128 card isn't going to help any. This issue seems to be specific to win xp as well, I just installed xp and am still figuring out how to tweak it..love how fast it is..hate this music bug.

Tam
TallTam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2002, 05:28   #12
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Lord knows...

Try latest DirectSound Output
http://www.blorp.com/~peter/out_ds.dll
(copy to Winamp\Plugins dir)

Then open Winamp, goto: Prefs -> Output -> Crossfading DS Out -> config:
Set buffer (advanced settings) to "max skipping protection" setting, c/o Preset drop-down menu (5000 | 50%)
Checkmark "create primary buffer"

Also, again, make sure you've got latest XP drivers for SB128
www.soundblaster.com/drivers/ -> click WinXP link from there...
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2002, 08:11   #13
TallTam
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5
I'm finding a possible cause for this..I have a via chipset..and reading on the via site I found others having this problem with creative sound cards and xp. Seems to be a problem with the pci slots and latency timing. I had the latest creative drivers first thing....and had the latest via drivers, but now I'm messing with other stuff from their site. Last option will be to open the case and mess with the actual cards, hoping to avoid that though 'cause it's a pain to get to with my desk setup.

Tam

some via links..

http://forums.viaarena.com/messagevi...&threadid=2665

and

http://www.networking.tzo.com/net/so...e/faqvl019.htm
TallTam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2002, 10:06   #14
TallTam
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5
fixed!!!

The latency patch fixed the problem. For xp systems with via chipsets...go to http://www.networking.tzo.com/net/so...e/faqvl019.htm

Download the latency patch, unzip it.

Do not use the installation bat file...it gives a registry hive error on rebooting...but find the vlatenNT.inf file, right click on it and select install.

Reboot and try playing an mp3.

I also followed all the instructions above and installed the output patch before the latency fix so unsure if that's needed along with it or not.

3am here and finally going to bed..lol...couldn't sleep with a tech problem unresolved. :)

If this doesn't work post back here and I'll post the full sequence of troubleshooting I did tonight just in case any of those steps were important..but none of them worked until I installed the latency patch.

If you do not have a via chipset do not use this...head over to your motherboard's website and search for their fix, but this seems to be a specific via problem from what I've read.

Tam
TallTam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2002, 14:14   #15
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Yes, a well documented issue with Via mobos, WinXP and SB cards (amongst others)

From: TSGH -> Useful Links

Via Chipset woes:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=72895
http://www.viahardware.com/download/viatweak.shtm
http://alive.singnet.com.sg/tech/via.htm
http://www.viahardware.com/download/index.shtm
http://download.viahardware.com/vlatency_v019.zip (Via PCI Latency patch v0.19 - as linked to in left frame of downloads page)

I'll add your links to the list as well.

Cheers,
DJ-Egg
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2002, 16:39   #16
shapeshifterxs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2
The same happened to me - but i found a fix

and that is to reduce the PCI Latency Timer (CLK) in your Bios - mine was set to 64
i reduced it to 32 and i have no skipping or jerking problems anymore.
i have a VIA Technologies Chipset and didnt have to d/l the latency patch.

hope that helps

Last edited by shapeshifterxs; 22nd April 2002 at 17:08.
shapeshifterxs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2002, 19:05   #17
out123
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 8
what about intel?

well, i have an intel 845 motherboard, and i didnt find any fix or troubleshooting about sound problems...btw, what keys do i press to get into the bios on startup?
out123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2002, 19:31   #18
shapeshifterxs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2
during memory test - you have to press DEL

the PCI Latency Timer is under the PCI Config


PS. my old MB was also Intel and the same worked on that one - so i assume this is a general problem - as both Bios' were set to 64....
both are Award mind you - so um not too sure if the same feature is available in other Bios's
shapeshifterxs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2002, 19:33   #19
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Yeah, those links are for VIA mobos, not Intel.

To enter BIOS, it varies on different systems.
It's usually one of:
Delete | Esc | F2
But it should say what it is for your comp at the bottom of the first screen
(whilst memory test is running)

Not sure if I asked this already or not...
Have you tried the very latest DirectSound Output?
www.blorp.com/~peter/out_ds.dll
(copy to Winamp\Plugins dir, overwriting old dll)

Open Winamp, goto:
Prefs -> Output -> Crossfading DS Out -> config
Checkmark: Create primary buffer
Set buffer to Max Skipping Protection setting (c/o drop down menu)

If the problem persists, then it's definitely got nothing to do with Winamp.
(I think we've already established this fact)

I'm sure we've already been thu all this, but it's either:
1) DMA / UDMA isn't enabled for the HD
2) The videocard is stealing bus bandwidth from the soundchip.
3) The SoundMax/driver/codec sucks.
4) A combination of all 3, or something else entirely (not sure what though)... look at those links from WinampRocker's first post again.
5) The PCI Latency Timer thing ?!

See if there's any 845 mobo/BIOS/soundmax upgrade patches available @ www.intel.com
or DriverZone

Good luck!


ps. out123 / shapeshifterxs
You'll find many different systems used Award Modular BIOS
(Both VIA and Intel mobos, etc, but mainly Intel...)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2002, 22:38   #20
out123
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 8
fortissimo

thanks... what do u say about hercules fortissimo II ? do u think putting it will definetely solve the problem, even on winXP? i can get it in 40$, is it cheap?
out123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2002, 22:51   #21
TallTam
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5
if the problem is with your motherboard then changing sound cards shouldn't make much of a difference unless you are going up very high in price/quality to a soundcard with it's own buffer to avoid the latency issue. Since this problem is with all variations of creative labs I'm not sure you'll get any luck with a $40 sound card. Some people are posting results with the Santa Cruz sound cards on the via sites..but if you can adjust the pci latency it's an easy fix as compared to buying a new sound card. My bios version doesn't give access to those settings, which is probably why that patch was made for those motherboards. Obviously if you can adjust your latency through your bios setup then do it though..if you don't have access and it's via then use the patch..just remember on xp to manually install the patch 'cause the install.bat won't work for some reason (instructions in above post).

Tam
TallTam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2002, 23:28   #22
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
out123 doesn't have a AMD w/ VIA mobo, it's an Intel PC.

Yes, Guillemot's Fortissimo II card comes highly recommended.
It's the predecessor to the newer Hercules Game Theater XP soundcards, that's why it's a bit cheaper now. Guillemot / Hercules hardware is worlds apart from CreativeLabs, and they know how to write proper working drivers too. I haven't seen too many problems (if any) reported with any of these cards under WinXP. You know their graphics cards (3D Prophet) are of the highest quality possible (under both Intel & AMD systems), so you should also know to trust their soundcards too. WinXP is fully supported!

Further details:
http://europe.hercules.com/ | http://europe.hercules.com/products/products_index.php

I see they've just released a newer Gamesurround Fortissimo™ II Digital Edition sound card... I'm gonna get one (though the Game Theater is very tempting).
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2002, 21:46   #23
out123
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 8
another problem

hey,
i installed the old sb vibra 128, most of the skipping gone indeed (not completely though!); but now i hear a disturbing background noise when the songs are quiet or nothing plays. when i move the mouse its getting a little louder. anything known about this one?
out123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump